Résolution 18: Levée de Fonds

Ce troisième Congrès de StreetNet International:

NOTANT:

1. L’actuelle politique de StreetNet sur la viabilité et l’autosuffisance financière, qui dit que “ D’autres moyens de levée de fonds seront identifiés et entrepris, y compris:

- Des projets de commerce international entre les vendeurs de rue dans des pays différents;

- Des initiatives d’épargne et de crédit;

- Des activités de levée de fonds (activités culturelles, etc.)”

2. Le premier Congrès International a décidé de mettre en place un Sous-comité de levée de fonds qui s’occupe de générer des revenus pour StreetNet, conformément aux termes de référence suivants:

- Le Sous-comité enverra régulièrement son rapport au Conseil International et au Congrès International de StreetNet;

- Les individus membres du Sous-comité ne vont pas profiter personnellement des projets de génération de revenus pour StreetNet International;

- Les recettes accumulées à travers le travail du Sous-comité, y compris les recettes obtenues sous forme de commission ou actions, appartiendront à StreetNet International en tant qu’organisation et non aux employés ou membres de StreetNet y compris les membres élus du Conseil International et du Sous-comité de levée de fonds.

3. Les deux Sous-comités nommés ensuite par le Conseil International en 2004 et 2008 n’ont pas été à mesure d’appliquer ce qui précède.

4. Un séminaire de formation des dirigeants a été organisé à Cotonou, en Février 2010, à l’endroit des membres du Comité Exécutif et aux délégués du Sous-comité de levée de fonds envoyés par CNTG (Guinée), NASVI (Inde), SIVARA (Argentine) et CTCP (Nicaragua), séminaire qui a abouti aux recommandations suivantes.

PREND LA RESOLUTION:

1. Que les recettes issues des frais d’affiliation devront augmenter à travers le recrutement des affiliés qui ont un nombre élevé d’adhérents à StreetNet, et non en augmentant leurs cotisations.

2. Qu’il faudra considérer l’utilisation du bulletin de StreetNet pour générer des recettes de la manière suivante:

2.1 Faire des publicités pour recouvrer 20% du coût de production;

2.2 Au lieu de continuer à le distribuer gratuitement, le bulletin devra être vendu sur les rues et aux marchés après avoir mis en place un système viable de collecte de payements et de versement des recettes à StreetNet à une date fixée par le Conseil International de StreetNet.

3. Qu’il faut essayer de réduire le coût des activités par pays (sans réduire la qualité ou le rendement) et les fonds ainsi gardés devront être placés en réserves en attendant l’accord des bailleurs de fonds.

4. Que lors d’une visite d’échange, l’organisation hôte couvre 10% du coût de la visite (StreetNet payerait pour les 90% restants). Les 10% pourront ainsi être placés en réserves en accord avec les bailleurs de fonds.

5. Que le Congrès International étudie la possibilité de créer une autre structure (coopérative, compagnie d’investissement, trust, etc.) qui sera responsable devant le Congrès et le Conseil International de StreetNet, dont l’objectif sera d’entreprendre des activités génératrices des revenus. La Coordinatrice Internationale et les membres du Sous-comité de levée de fonds se chargeront de chercher une telle information et la transmettre à tous les affiliés et au bureau de StreetNet, afin de préparer une discussion informée sur les différentes alternatives par le Conseil International. Celui-ci se chargera de présenter une proposition claire et détaillée au Congrès prochain de StreetNet International.

6. Le mandat de cette structure distincte sera de:

6.1 Trouver du capital pour les activités génératrices de recettes;

6.2 Organiser des activités culturelles en collaboration avec les affiliés de StreetNet dans les pays concernés, pour les quelles un capital de R1million (approximativement US$ 125 000) sera levé, pour un revenu anticipé de R1.2 million, et dégager ainsi un profit de R 200 000 (approximativement $ 25 000) chacune.

6.3 Organiser des activités génératrices des revenus (y compris des foires internationaux) utilisant un capital de plus ou moins R2000 000 (approximativement 25 000$) pour obtenir R3 million de recettes, ce qui va dégager un profit de R1 million (approximativement $ 125 000)

7. Que le Congrès International donne au Conseil International la tâche d’investiguer la viabilité de mettre sur pied une institution de micro finance génératrice des revenus, qui sera responsable devant le Congrès et le Conseil International de StreetNet:

7.1 Une telle institution pourra emprunter du capital au taux de 0,5% et le prêter à 1%, pour que le profit de 0,5% puisse être utilisé pour couvrir d’autres dépenses (frais généraux) et le reste remis à StreetNet sous forme de revenus.

7.2 Il faudra approcher des institutions comme les coopératives de crédit, qui est bien établies et avec beaucoup d’expérience, pour faire une présentation au Conseil International de StreetNet sur la viabilité d’une telle initiative.

8. StreetNet devrait mettre en place des liens nécessaires à travers l’OIT et les organes de l’Union Africaine tels que la SADC, la CDEAO et d’autres – pour faciliter l’accès au financement des agences comme le PNUD et l’UNICEF afin de lutter contre la pauvreté dans les pays où les affiliés de StreetNet existent, et accroître ainsi les affaires des membres de ces affiliés.

9. Que le Sous-comité de levée de fonds soit réévalué comme suit:

9.1. Les membres du Comité doivent être identifiés selon leur capacité à entreprendre les tâches ci-haut citées;

9.2. Les réunions du Sous-comité se tiendront avec le minimum de dépenses possible, p.ex. par voie de téléconférences – en reconnaissant que le but du Sous-comité est d’aider à lever les fonds, et non à les dépenser.

PROPOSEE PAR: Le Comité Exécutif de StreetNet, les candidats membres du Sous - Comité de levée de fonds pour 2010 en provenance d’Argentine, de la Guinée, de l’Inde et du Nicaragua.

APPUYEE PAR: UGSEIN, ZCIEA

Like us
Galerie
Follow us on Twitter

Cités Classe Mondiale pour Tous (Portugais Blog)

Il existe également une version du Blog en portugais où l'on peut accéder à des mises à jour personnelles sur les nouvelles et événements. On peut y accéder à travers ce lien: http://streetnetbrasil.wordpress.com/
StreetNet NewsBox

NewsBox

BRASIL. Camelôs fazem protesto na Avenida Rangel Pestana. G1 Globo (11 de abril de 2015).

BRASIL. Operação retira ambulantes do calçadão do centro de Maceió. G1 Glob (7 de abril de 2015) por Carolina Sanches.

BRASIL.  Operação da PM e Prefeitura vai retirar camelôs do Comércio. Primeira Ediçao (30 de março de 2015 ).

StreetNet Internationale

StreetNet Internationale

StreetNet Internationale est une alliance des vendeurs de rue. Elle était lancée à Durban en République Sud Africaine en Novembre 2002. Ses membres sont des organisations telles les coopératives, unions ou Associations. Ces dernières regroupent directement les vendeurs de rue, du marché, et/ou les marchands en qualité de membres, qui sont ainsi autorisés à s’affilier à StreetNet Internationale.

L’ objectif de StreetNet est de promouvoir l’ echange de l’information et idées sur les questions critiques à l’ endroit des vendeurs de rue, du marché, et d’ autres marchands: à titre d’ exemple, les vendeurs mobiles. Il doit aussi promouvoir les stratégies concernant l’ organisation pratique et la defence de leur intérêts.

Resolution 18: Fund-Raising

This Third International Congress of StreetNet:

NOTING

1. the existing policy of StreetNet on Sustainability and Financial Self-Sufficiency, which states: Other means of fundraising will be identified and pursued, including:

- international trade between street vendors projects in different countries;

- savings and credit initiatives;

- fundraising events (such as cultural events, etc.)

2. that the First International Congress resolved to appoint a Fund-raising Sub-Committee to be responsible for the generation of income for StreetNet, with the following Terms of Reference:

- the Sub-Committee shall report to the International Council and the International Congress of StreetNet on a regular basis;

- members of the Sub-Committee will not be entitled to profit or benefit personally from any income-generation projects of StreetNet International;

- any income which accrues through the work of the Sub-Committee, including income in the form of commission or shares, shall belong to StreetNet International as an organization and not to any individual staff or member of StreetNet, including elected office-bearers and members of the Fund-Raising Sub-Committee.

3. that the two Fund-Raising Sub-Committees subsequently appointed by the International Council in 2004 and 2008 were not able to implement the above.

4. that a leadership training seminar for members of the Executive Committee and nominees to the Fundraising Sub-Committee from CNTG (Guinee), NASVI (India), SIVARA (Argentina) and CTCP (Nicaragua) convened in Cotonou in February 2010 produced the following recommendations.

HEREBY RESOLVES

1. Affiliation fees income should be raised by recruiting more StreetNet affiliates with more members not by increasing the level of the affiliation fees.

2. StreetNet newsletter should be used to generate income in the following ways:

2.1 Obtain advertising to recover 20% of the cost of production;

2.2 Affiliates should discuss whether StreetNet should stop free distribution of the newsletter and sell it on the streets and the markets instead if so, for what price and how sales revenue should be managed and report to the International Council.

3. Efforts should be made to reduce the cost of country activities (without reducing the quality or output) and funds so saved should be placed in reserve subject to the agreement of the relevant donors.

4. In each StreetNet exchange visit, the host organisation should cover 10% of the cost of the visit (with StreetNet bearing the remaining 90%) and the 10% saved should be placed in reserve subject to the agreement of the relevant donors.

5. International Congress should give consideration to the establishment of a distinct structure (cooperative, trust, investment company, etc.) accountable to the StreetNet International Congress and International Council, whose purpose would be to engage in revenue-generating activities. The International Co-ordinator and members of the Fundraising Sub-Committee will be charged to find such information and circulate to all affiliates and the StreetNet office, in preparation for an informed discussion of the different alternatives by the International Council, who will be charged to present a clear and detailed proposal to the next StreetNet International Congress.

6. The mandate of such distinct structure will be to:

6.1 Raise capital for revenue-generating activities;

6.2 Organise cultural activities in collaboration with StreetNet affiliates in particular countries, for each of which capital of R1m (approx. $125 000) will be raised, and anticipated revenue targeted at R1.2m, i.e. rendering a 20% profit of R200 000 (approx. $25 000) each.

6.3 Organise revenue-generating activities (including international fairs, and International Music Project proposed by CTCP and Nicaragua) for each of which capital of R2m (approx. $250 000) will be raised, and anticipated revenue targeted at R3m, i.e. rendering 50% profit of R1m (approx.$125 000)

6.4 Of 50% profits, 30% to be used to cover operational costs and 20% for reinvestment in StreetNet 5% to be distributed among StreetNet affiliates.

7. International Congress should charge the International Council with the task of investigating the viability of establishing an income-generating micro-finance institution accountable to the StreetNet International Congress and International Council:

7.1 Such institution should aim to borrow capital at a rate of 0.5% and lend at a rate of 1%, so that the profit of 0.5% would be used to pay overhead costs and the balance would be remitted to StreetNet International as revenue.

7.2 Experienced and well-established credit co-operative institutions should be approached to make presentations to the International Council regarding the viability of such an initiative by StreetNet International.

8. StreetNet should establish the necessary linkages through the ILO and African Union regional bodies such as SADC, ECOWAS and others to make it easier to access funds that come through agencies like UNDP and UNICEF towards
poverty alleviation in countries where StreetNet has affiliates, to grow the businesses of affiliates members.

9. The Fundraising Sub-Committee should be reassessed as follows:

9.1 Members of the Committee must be identified according to their capacity to do the abovementioned tasks;

9.2 Meetings of the Sub-Committee must take place with the minimum possible expense, e.g. by means of teleconferences acknowledging that the purpose of the Sub-Committee is to assist in raising funds, not spending more funds.

PROPOSED: StreetNet Executive Committee, 2010 nominees to Fundraising Sub-Committee from Argentina, Guinee, India, Nicaragua.

SECONDED: UGSEIN, ZCIEA.

Like us
Follow us on Twitter

World Class Cities for All - Brazil (Portuguese Blog)

There is also a portuguese version of the Blog where one can access personal updates on news and events. It can be found on this link: http://streetnetbrasil.wordpress.com/

StreetNet NewsBox

NewsBox

INDIA. DP is irreparable, scrap it, say activists. Times of India (10 April 2015).

TANZANIA. College plans to identify trade opportunities for hawkers. Daily News (10 April 2015)  by Ludovick Kazoka.

INDIA. No street vendors, cycle rickshaws in Lajpat Nagar market: NGT. Zee News (8 April 2015) by PTI. New Delhi:

BOTSWANA. EDD is the way to go. Mmegi Online (8 April 2015).

USA. Five Courses: Hawkers' street food flair & more. Creative Loafing Tampa Bay (8 April 2015) by Meaghan Habuda.

INDIA. Hawkers may be allowed near Rishi Kapoor, Anil Ambani's Pali Hill residences. DNA India (8 April 2015) by Amrita Nayak Dutta.

ABU-DHABI. Abu Dhabi Municipality raid scares away street hawkers. Gulf News (7 April 2015).

SINGAPORE. Hawker centres to be spruced up with murals and art installations. Channel News Asia (5 April 2015) by Vimita Mohandas.

MALAYSIA. 'Development will be inclusive'. The Star Online (3 April 2015).

INDIA. 'Street vendors denied right to livelihood'. The Hindu (1 April 2015) by K.N. Umesh.

SOUTH AFRICA. South Africa: Xenophobic Violence in KZN - 'This Is a Black Easter for Foreigners'.

SINGAPORE. Singapore street food: stewed, sliced and steamed - video.

USA. Street vendors press city to legalize their trade.

StreetNet International

StreetNet International is an alliance of street vendors. It was launched in Durban, South Africa, in November 2002.

Membership-based organizations (unions, co-operatives or associations) directly organizing street vendors, market vendors and/or hawkers among their members, are entitled to affiliate to StreetNet International.

The aim of StreetNet is to promote the exchange of information and ideas on critical issues facing street vendors, market vendors and hawkers (i.e. mobile vendors) and on practical organizing and advocacy strategies